News Published: Jan 16, 2018 - 1:35:45 AM

Murphy Announces Winners of 2nd Annual ‘Martin Luther King Jr. Day Essay Challenge’

By U.S. Senator Chris Murphy (D-Conn.)'s office

Font size: Small Big
Email this article
 Printer friendly page
Share this article:
facebook Yahoo! MyWeb Digg reddit Furl Blinklist Spurl
Buy the "As seen on" mug
WASHINGTON, DC - In honor of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, U.S. Senator Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) announced on Monday that 15 elementary, middle, and high school students from across Connecticut were selected as winners of his second annual ‘Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Essay Challenge.’ Approximately 700 students submitted essays to Murphy’s office reflecting on Dr. King’s dream and their own aspirations. Murphy invited the winners to attend a pancake breakfast celebration. The winning essays will be displayed in Murphy’s office. All students who submitted essays by the January 10, 2018, deadline will receive a Congressional gold seal note from Murphy’s office thanking them for their participation.

“Dr. King inspired us all to fight for justice and equality. For the second year in a row, I’m totally blown away by the essays and ideas of these students. It was hard to pick just a few winners,” said Murphy. “Today, we reflect on Dr. King’s legacy, and I hope that students across Connecticut who wrote essays took it as an opportunity to do so. If they stay engaged and fight hard for what they believe in, they can accomplish anything they set their minds to.”

Congressional District #1 Winners:
· Aarav Mathur – Aiken Elementary School in West Hartford
· Zishan Ahmed – John F. Kennedy Middle School in Plantsville
· Malik Martin – Connecticut River Academy in East Hartford

Congressional District #2 Winners:
· Quentin Kuczaj – Windermere School in Ellington
· Avni Kabra – East Lyme Middle School
· Colleen Keller – East Lyme High School

Congressional District #3 Winners:
· Rodney Crockett Jr. – Moody Elementary School in Middletown
· Maia Quarles – City Hill Middle School in Naugatuck
· Alex Guzhnay – Achievement First Amistad High School in New Haven

Congressional District #4 Winners:
· Ryan El-ouardighi – K.T. Murphy School in Stamford
· Kristopher Flores – Roton Middle School in Norwalk
· Latrel Stewart – Brien McMahon High School in Norwalk

Congressional District #5 Winners:
· Kenneth Konrad Miller – Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown
· Kyler Kumi – Rochanmbeau Middle School in Southbury
· Karl Daniel Miller – Newtown High School

© Copyright by Canaiden. Some articles and pictures posted on our website, as indicated by their bylines, were submitted as press releases and do not necessarily reflect the position and opinion of, Canaiden LLC or any of its associated entities. Articles may have been edited for brevity and grammar. Photos without a credit line are "contributed photos".

Wolf Pack remain scoreless in loss against Sound Tigers
Westport Country Playhouse Script in Hand Playreading of Romantic Comedy “Better Late” by Larry Gelbart, “M*A*S*H” Creator
The Westport Farmers’ Market, Fleishers Craft Butchery, and Patagonia Provisions to Sponsor a Special Showing of the Sundance Film LOOK & SEE: A CINEMATIC PORTRAIT OF WRITER, FARMER, AND ACTIVIST WENDELL BERRY
Maritime Aquarium "Strive for the Gold Weekend" Feb. 17-19
Norwalk Historical Society Celebrates Earth Day With Lecture on Connecticut Town Greens by Author Eric D. Lehman
State Program Pays CT Families to Care for Elderly Relatives from Puerto Rico

Top of Page is part of the Canaiden Online Media Network.
Connecticut Plus Online | Stamford Plus Online | Norwalk Plus Online | | Best of Norwalk | Best of Stamford | Hauterfly Magazine |

Copyright ©2005-2010 Canaiden,LLC All Rights Reserved.